Skip to content ↓

Celebration Of Students' Success At Awards Evening

The cream of Corby Business Academy’s talent was celebrated at its Annual Achievement Awards evening on Tuesday.

The event - a highlight in the Academy's calendar - honours students who have made exceptional contributions to school life and those who have excelled in different subjects. One hundred prizes were presented to students of all ages for their achievement and commitment during what is only the school's second year.

The evening was rounded off with the presentation of 21 special awards for students who have shown particular dedication and effort at the Academy. They included trophies for Citizenship, Independent Working, Group Work, Enterprise and Peer Mentoring.

The top honour - CBA's Student of the Year 2010 - went to star student Charlotte Bean, from Year 10. Charlotte was nominated by a number of teachers because of her excellent attitude to school life and study.

The awards were sponsored by many local businesses, including RS Components, Roquette , Corby Football Club and Rockingham Speedway and the evening celebrated the strong links the Business Academy is forging with major local firms and sports organisations. To top the evening off, the audience of parents and special guests were given a talk by keynote speaker Claire Young, who was a finalist in Alan Sugar's popular show, The Apprentice, in 2008. She urged students to aim high and work hard to secure their dream job or chosen career.  

Principal Andrew Campbell said: "The evening was a fantastic success and we were delighted to recognise the excellent achievements of so many talented and committed young people. They are a credit to the school and to Corby. CBA is on a journey to success and anyone who was here tonight can see we are making rapid progress towards our goal."

The awards evening was also a celebration of all the achievements at the Academy in the last academic year, including sporting highlights, musical talent, exam success and the growing number of extra-curricular activities.

The students who picked up whole school awards, which were sponsored by local businesses and organisations, were:  James Fyvie for Effective Communication; Fern Sweeney for Independent Working; Thomas Woodward for Creative Thinking; Sereti Ogwang for  Managing Risk; Elizabeth Smith for Green Issues; the under-13 cricket team for Group Work: Melissa Owens for Reflecting on Performance; Joshua Cresswell for Citizenship; Emily Laughton-Hulatt for Science and Technology; Emily Carroll for the Library Award; Christina Moore for Active Achievement - Female; Branko Djujic for Active Achievement - Male; Jordon Joseph for Community; Emese Toth for Creative Writing; the Inclusion Enterprise Group for Enterprise; Zak Butler for Heroes; Dajana Vucenovic for The Spirit of CBA; Ernestas Bacevicius for E-Commerce; Emily Carroll for the Children's University; Charlotte Bean for Student of the Year and Shanice Kightley for Peer Mentoring.