Skip to content ↓

Inspiring students are honoured at awards evening

Dozens of students were honoured at our 7th Annual Achievement Awards evening.

Dozens of students were honoured at our 7th Annual Achievement Awards evening.

The awards highlighted students’ achievements in the fields of Physical and Natural Sciences, Business, Humanities and Enterprise, Art, Music and Industrial Design, Communication, Mathematics and Information Technology and the Unit during the past year.

Last year’s Year 11, 12 and 13 students were also praised for their examination results.

Associate Principal Janet Duggan, who compered the event, said: “This presentation evening acknowledges exceptional student achievement and the contribution to the life of the Academy made by some very special students.

“Many of the awards have been donated by our sponsors and we are very grateful for the support they have given the Academy since it opened.”

The keynote speaker for the evening was former Royal Marines Commando John Sullivan from Northampton.

Mr Sullivan has a keen sense of adventure and has lived in a variety of challenging environments, including the jungle, the desert and the Arctic.

He has created factual programmes for the BBC and the National Geographic Channel from some of the remotest corners of the world.

During his speech he encouraged our students to find their passion in life and follow it.

The night also included the CBA Review of the Year film and a speech by our Chairperson of Governors Michelle Duffy.

All our award winners are listed below and more pictures from the event are available by clicking here

To see a video of the evening click here

(Pictured above is Kelsey Fordyce receiving The Principal’s Award for Outstanding Achievement Year 11 from our Executive Principal John Henrys)


The special award winners were:


Special Award for Physical & Natural Sciences – Lauren Shirlaw

(Sponsored by the Friends of CBA. Award presented by Clive Chenery)


Special Award for Business, Humanities & Enterprise – Evie Berry

(Sponsored by Roquette UK Limited. Award presented by UK Finance Director Susan Price)


Special Award for Art, Music & Industrial Design – Joseph Coy

(Sponsored by Rockingham. Award presented by Press and PR Officer Sarah Thomson)


Special Award for Communication – Karime Figha

(Sponsored by Hays Recruitment Company. Award presented by Senior Business Manager Mike Sherwin)


Special Award for Mathematics & Information Technology – E-Safety Challenge Group: Riain Hobbs, Jessica Icke, Rebecca Sawford, George Slater & Lewis Viner

(Sponsored by R S Components Limited. Award presented by Head of Operational Audit Mark Taylor)


Special Award for the Unit Provision – Bethany Miller

(Sponsored by Corby Borough Council. Award presented by the Mayor of Corby Cllr Peter McEwan and Deputy Leader Cllr Jean Addison)


Special Award for Environmental Science – Lucy Hall

(Sponsored by Lockhart Garratt Limited. Award presented by Managing Director Justin Mumford)


The Principal’s Award for Outstanding Achievement Year 11 – Eryn Lee Church and Kelsey Fordyce

The Principal’s Award for Outstanding Achievement Year 13 – Sinead Flanagan and Joseph March


The faculty award winners were:


Physical & Natural Sciences KS3 Award winnerJack Lawlor

Physical & Natural Sciences KS4 Award winnerZoe Hall


Business, Humanities & Enterprise KS3 Award winnerCharlie Cousins

Business Humanities & Enterprise KS4 Award winnerCharlie Small


Art, Music & Industrial Design KS3 Award winnerKarolina Kontor

Art, Music & Industrial Design KS4 Award winnerSophie Ducker


Communication KS3 Award winnerShannon Joseph

Communication KS4 Award winnerCary Ross

(Prizes kindly donated by Hays Recruitment Company)


Mathematics & Information Technology KS3 Award winnerEdward Boaden

Mathematics & Information Technology KS4 Award winnerJoshua Rogers


Unit KS3 Award winnerShakira Colvill

Unit KS4 Award winnerChloe Clarke

(Prizes kindly donated by Corby Borough Council)