Skip to content ↓

Corby Business Academy students triumph at BWT Sports Awards

Two Corby Business Academy students picked up awards at the first ever Brooke Weston Trust Sports Awards.

Two Corby Business Academy students picked up awards at the first ever Brooke Weston Trust Sports Awards.

Students Louise Bilby (pictured above receiving her award) and Oliver Pratt both triumphed at the inaugural awards which were held on Friday night (May 6th) at the Core Theatre in Corby.

Hundreds of students and parents from the ten BWT schools attended the awards ceremony in which young people from Key Stage 2 to Key Stage 4 were recognised for their commitment.

Both students won in the Outstanding Contribution Award category. Louise won the Key Stage 3 award for her commitment to a variety of sports and her help with various after school clubs and county swimmer Oliver won the Key Stage 4 award for the help he gives to local clubs and also the commitment he has shown to his GCSE PE where is predicted to gain an A*.

Altogether 18 awards were presented by special guests Chair of the Youth Sport Trust Baroness Sue Campbell and former BMX World Champion Mike Mullen.

BWT Director of Sport Kirstie Smith said: “It was a great evening and a real celebration of the sport that happens across our Trust of ten schools.

“As a Trust we recognise the importance of sport in young people’s lives and what it does to enhance well being, build confidence and teach team skills.”

During the evening all nominees were invited onto the stage and the audience were told about their sporting achievements.

There were also messages of support and congratulation from the stars from the world of England Rugby and BMxer Mike Mullen demonstrated a trick with  CBA Executive Principal John Henrys.

Dancers from CBA and the TCA also performed and throughout the evening the BWT Sports Ambassadors assisted with duties, helping students and parents to their seats and providing support to the awards organisation team.

To see more pictures from the BWT Sports Awards click here

A full list of the winners is below.

BWT Participation and Achievement Award

KS2: Caitlin Munro (Oakley Vale Primary)

KS3: Jo Clifford (Thomas Clarkson Academy)

KS4: Aston Buckby (Kettering Science Academy)

BWT Outstanding Contribution Award

KS2: Harley Chapman-Brown (Peckover Primary)

KS3: Louise Bilby (Corby Business Academy)

KS4: Oliver Pratt (Corby Business Academy)

BWT Sports Leader of the Year Award

KS2: Mekedis Abdullah (KSA Primary)

KS3: Isobel Moxley (Brooke Weston Academy)

KS4: Amber Lincoln (Brooke Weston Academy)

BWT Sportswoman of the Year Award

KS2: Grace Hyde (Gretton Primary)

KS3: Piper O’Neill (Thomas Clarkson Academy)

KS4: Charlotte Cameron (Thomas Clarkson Academy)

BWT Sportsman of the Year Award

KS2: Sanjay Ashwin (KSA Primary)

KS3: Jordan Lee Fowler (Corby Technical School)

KS4: Billy Revell (Kettering Science Academy)

BWT Team of the Year Award

KS2: Oakley Vale Primary Gymnastics Team

KS3: Brooke Weston Academy Year 7 Sports Hall Athletics Team

KS4: Thomas Clarkson Academy Year 10 Boys’ Basketball Team