Skip to content ↓

Meet CBA’s New Senate

Our brand new Senate has met for the first time.

The restaurant, fundraising ideas and allocating students to sub-committees were some of the issues on the agenda when our new Senate representatives met in the boardroom for their first official get together on Thursday, November 17th.

After a welcome from Acting Principal John Henrys and a talk about the Senate process from Vice Principal Sarah Ashby, the Senate got down to business

On the Senate are two members from each Year group plus six Sixth Form representatives.

The Senate representatives were selected after being voted in as Form representatives and then putting themselves forward for selection to the Senate.

The new members are:

Year 7 - Sophie Ducker and Kearnu Stapleton

Year 8 - Lewis Cross and Eve Pavitt

Year 9 - Tara Leggett and Callum Connachie

Year 10 - Georgina Bainbridge and Emily Carroll

Year 11 - Adam Wilson and Scarlet-Bliss Kettle

Sixth Form- Morium Aktar, Andile Chiwuta, Karolina Zalewska Ivo Silva and Head Boy Fraser Gillan and Head Girl Shona McKinnon.

Year 8 student Eve Pavitt, who has returned to the Senate for a second year said: "I found it very exciting to be part of the Senate last year and so I am thrilled to be a member this year.

"It is a really great system which allows students to have a direct say in the running of the academy."

Year 11 student Scarlet-Bliss Kettle said: "I wanted to become part of the Senate as I am good at expressing my views and want to represent the other students in my year."

The minutes from the senate will be available to read on the Senate pages of our website shortly.