Skip to content ↓

Open Evening Virtual Event

September 2021 Intake

Dear Parents, Carers and prospective Students,

Thank you for considering Corby Business Academy as your choice of Sixth Form, we appreciate that this is an important decision and want to support you in these times.

As you will see, our Sixth Form provision provides a wealth of opportunities. We are proud of the high quality destinations that our students accomplish, and the extremely high percentage of students that achieve their first choice destination.

The Academy’s provision enables students to access high academic attainment, as well as establish holistic development for the next stage of their careers or education. Our community ethos and excellent staff-student relationships provides a wealth of opportunities for all students.

Unfortunately, Covid-19 restrictions will prevent us from carrying out physical tours of the building this year, so we have complied two main strands of guidance:

  • An online prospectus
  • A virtual tour that allows you to hear from staff and students, as well as see the Academy building

Please click on the image below to view our 2021-22 Sixth Form  prospectus, we trust you will find it informative and it gives you a strong indication of our Sxith Form provision: 

Sixth Form Prospectus
2021-22 

Please see below a link to our virtual tours. This can be accessed at your leisure and will enable you to hear from staff and students, as well as see the Academy building:

 

 

 

To apply for a place at Corby Business Academy’s Sixth Form, please complete our online application form:

Application for Sixth Form

Please note that the deadline for applications is: Monday 11th January 2021

View the profiles below to find out more about our students' experiences at the Academy.

Colin Hunter
Head Boy - Year 13
Studying:
A-Level Geography
BTEC Business
BTEC Sport

Ambition after Corby Business Academy:
To go to university to study Sports Science and hopefully get a successful role around sport.

“My teachers have highlighted many different career pathways for my future and have encouraged me to keep pushing.”
Abi Mahony
Head Girl - Year 13

Studying:
A-Level English Literature
A-Level Media
BTEC Business

Ambition after Corby Business Academy:
To go on a gap year to explore my options. During this time, I will hopefully travel, gain more work experience and decide on what university course I want to attend the following year.

“I am very grateful for the opportunities the school has provided for me and I have enjoyed my time here.”

Phuonganh Mguyen
Science Ambassador - Year 13

Studying:
A-Level Business
A-Level Maths
A-Level Physics


Ambition after Corby Business Academy:
To go to university to study Accounting and Finance to hopefully pursue a career in Forensic Accounting.

“Corby Business Academy has supported my exploration of all the different areas of Maths which has led me to discover my dream career.”

Caitlin Campbell-Gordon
Mental Health Ambassador - Year 13
Studying:
A-Level Art
A-Level Psychology
BTEC Health and Social Care

Ambition after Corby Business Academy:
To go to University to study Primary Education with QTS.

“My teachers helped support me during times where I had bad mental health and that’s pushed me to want to be able to support others who struggle in education too.”
Teagan McCardie
Sports Ambassador - Year 13
Studying:
A-Level English Literature
BTEC Health and Social
BTEC Sport

Ambition after Corby Business Academy:
To go to University to study Physical Education and School Sport.

“Being a Sports Leader allowed me to gain experience in the subject area that I love and want to progress into further when I leave Sixth Form.”

We are proud of our former students and the high quality destinations they accomplish, an extremely high percentage achieve their first choice destination. Click on the link below to read our Alumni profiles, including our latest Oxbridge student Chatal's:

Corby Business Academy Alumni

Ralph Franklin
Assistant Principal responsible for Sixth Form
Ralph.Franklin@corbybusinessacademy.org
 

Samantha Anderson
Head of Sixth Form
Samantha.Anderson@corbybusinessacademy.org


Subject Directors:

Emily Boyd
Director of Subject for Art and Photography
Emily.Boyd@corbybusinessacademy.org

Lisa Hawkins
Vice Principal responsible for Business
Lisa.Hawkins@corbybusinessacademy.org

Martin Corbishley
Director of Subject for Computer Science and ICT
Martin.Corbishley@corbybusinessacademy.org

Caitlin Smith
Head of Chemistry
Caitlin.Smith@corbybusinessacademy.org

Deirdre O'Brien
Head of Biology
Deirdre.OBrien@corbybusinessacademy.org

Francia Dickinson (Academy SENCo)
Lead Teacher of Dance
Francia.Dickinson@corbybusinessacademy.org

Laura Bond
Director of Subject for English
Laura.Bond@corbybusinessacademy.org

Megan McLellan
Lead Teacher of Drama
Megan.Mclellan@corbybusinessacademy.org

Jordon Joseph
Head of Geography
Jordon.Joseph@corbybusinessacademy.org

Corinna Stanley
Lead Teacher of Health and Social Care
Elaine.Wood@corbybusinessacademy.org

Fiona Rowe
Head of History
Fiona.Rowe@corbybusinessacademy.org

Urvish Patel
Head of Maths
Urvish.Patel@corbybusinessacademy.org

Laurence Woodcock
Assistant Principal responsible for Media
Laurence.woodcock@corbybusinessacademy.org

Sophie Allert
Director of Subject for Modern Foreign Languages
Sophie.Allert@corbybusinessacademy.org

Clive Wears
Director of Subject for Music
Clive.Wears@corbybusinessacademy.org

Stuart Wall
Director of Subject for Physical Education
Stuart.Wall@corbybusinessacademy.org

Frederick Hagan
Head of Physics
Frederick.Hagan@corbybusinessacademy.org

Elaine Wood
Director of Subject for Psychology
Elaine.Wood@corbybusinessacademy.org


Senior Leadership Team:

Simon Underwood
Associate Principal
Simon.Underwood@corbybusinessacademy.org

Kerry Prior
Vice Principal
Kerry.Prior@corbybusinessacademy.org

Lisa Hawkins
Vice Principal
Lisa.Hawkins@corbybusinessacademy.org

Julian Smith
Vice Principal
Julian.Smith@corbybusinessacademy.org

Charlie Gavin
Assistant Principal
Charlie.Gavin@corbybusinessacademy.org

Heather Thompson
Assistant Principal
Heather.Thompson@corbybusinessacademy.org

Heidi Bird
Assistant Principal
Heidi.Bird@corbybusinessacademy.org

Laurence Woodcock
Assistant Principal
Laurence.Woodcock@corbybusinessacademy.org

Entry Requirements

The entry requirements for external students will be the same as for continuing students. All students must complete a Corby Business Academy application form.

There are two areas within the Sixth Form for students to apply for:

The Pathway Courses:

To participate in The Level 3 Pathway students must achieve:

  • a total GCSE/Level 2 points entry (best 8 subject grades) of 40 points*
  • a grade 5 in Maths and English Language or Literature
  •  each subject specific entry requirement*

                    

The Gateway Courses:

To participate in The Level 3 Pathway students must achieve:

  • a total GCSE/Level 2 points entry (best 8 subject grades) of 32 points*
  • a grade 3 in Maths and English Language or Literature
  •  each subject specific entry requirement*

Students will be expected to retake GCSE Maths and/or English as part of this course.

NB. The maximum intake to The Gateway Course is 25 students

*Course entry requirements and points allocation are outlined in our Sixth Form prospectus.

Published Admissions Number (PAN)

The Published Admissions Number (PAN) is the maximum number of external students that the admissions authority will admit to each year group. Each school has a published number to admit. The PAN for Corby Business Academy is 25 external admissions in each Year 12 entry.

After the admission of students with EHC plans that name the Academy and if applications which meet the academic entry requirements exceed Year 12 PAN the following over subscription criteria apply:

  1. Children in public care, including children who have previously been in public care but ceased to be so because they were adopted or became subject to a residence order or special guardianship order.
  2. Children with a sibling**at the Academy at the time of transfer to the Sixth Form.
  3. Distance between permanent address***, and the Academy as measured in a straight line from the child’s home to the Main Entrance of the Academy site. Proof of residence may be requested ****.

In the event of a tie-break situation i.e. two addresses are exactly the same distance from the Academy; a place will be awarded on a random allocation basis. This will be undertaken electronically and will be subject to independent verification.

There will be a right of appeal to an Independent Appeals Panel for unsuccessful Post 16 applicants.

A waiting list will be held for Year 12 students for the first term of the new academic year. This waiting list will be held in line with the over subscription criteria.
Additonal Information 

**Definition of sibling link:

***Permanent Address

The place of residence where the student sleeps the majority of the time.

****Proof of Residence:

The definitions to be applied are those set out in the BWT Admissions Arrangements. Please see link below for further details:

https:/www.brookewestontrust.org/_site/data/files/3986207F4078017186A772FC01CAEC90.PDF
Unit Provision
Corby Business Academy students supported in their learning by placement within the Academy’s Designated Special provision may continue into the Sixth Form where the Academy is able to meet their needs.